top of page

Why I (might be) Choosing PA over MD

I have always wanted to be in the world of medicine.

The science intrigued me, hospitals excited me, and it was an incredible mountain of accomplishment that I wanted to conquer. Growing up, I thought my only career options were to become a nurse or become a doctor. I went into college as a nursing major, but quickly realized that I enjoy the medical model more than the nursing model. I started thinking about how I wanted to spend my time, especially my undergraduate years. I wanted to be more involved in my sorority on the executive council, I wanted to travel abroad, and I also wanted the freedom and flexibility to take hard sciences and humanities that were not part of the strict nursing curriculum. I started looking into other ways to be a part of the healthcare field without going to nursing school.

I struggled with the decision to give up my seat in our prestigious nursing program in favor of a Biology degree. I decided that my goals better aligned with becoming a Physician (MD or DO). For an entire semester, I had my heart set on becoming a doctor. Both of my best friends were already on the Pre-Med path, and I felt that was a better fit for my personality and goals than nursing. Once I declared my ambitions, I wanted to learn everything about the profession that I could. I began reading. I read so many incredible books, but one that struck me in particular was Match Day by Brian Eule. It chronicled the lives of three female residents struggling with their professional and personal lives. I appreciated this book for it's sheer honesty and transparency. It didn't sugar coat or glamorize the exhaustion and sacrifice that these women endured to become physicians. This book made me take a hard look at myself, and what I envisioned for myself in 5, 10, or 15 years. I see myself as an extremely driven and hardworking woman, but I also need time to myself. I have learned that I need a good balance in my life to be happy. I have a fulfilling four-year relationship and I foresee myself marrying this man. I want to have children, and I want to be able to enjoy weekends, nights out and vacations. I want to go to my friend's weddings, and I don't want to be studying constantly. I applaud anyone that is pursuing an MD/DO, because it is an incredibly selfless endeavor. Physicians sacrifice so much, and I had to make the hard decision to put myself, my family and my mental health first. Becoming a PA will allow me to be the invested provider that I want to be in the future. I will be a much better wife, mother, and provider if I pursue the PA route. After learning a lot about the profession from YouTubers "LifeAsaPA" and "HerestoHealthyWomen" I am confident that my choice is the right one for me. There are many reasons one might choose PA over MD, or MD over PA. I have done A LOT of research for myself, and I wanted to help anyone struggling with the decision like I did. These figures are all approximations, as I am not a healthcare professional currently.

 

Physician Assistant

Pros:

2/2.5 Year Masters of Physician Assistant Studies required (6 years of training total)

Start making good money right out of school (starting around 80K)

Personally, I would graduate at 24 or 25 years old

Most PA's work around 40 hours per week

I want to work as a Dermatological PA, which would require no additional training (Also, it would mostly be a 9-5 type schedule)

Allows me to fully enjoy my 20's and start a family in my late 20's or early 30's

If I wanted to change specialty, I can do so with no additional school. It would be paid on the job training

Only two years worth of debt (100K average)

I would take the GRE instead of the MCAT

More flexibility with my college courses, allowing for a minor and also traveling abroad

Cons:

I would be called "Emily" instead of "Doctor"

I will always be working "underneath" a supervising physician

I will not always be calling the shots, or doing the most complicated cases

Medical Doctor/Physician (MD/DO)

Pros:

I would have full autonomy after graduating residency

I would have the respect and authority that being a physician brings

Salary after residency (for a dermatologist) is around 250-300K per year

I would have the option of owning my own practice

Cons:

4 years of medical school, plus 4 years of a dermatology residency (12 years of training total)

Residents make around 50K but work upwards of 80 hours a week with call

I would want to wait until I graduate residency to start a family, so I would be 30 or older when I have kids.

Four years worth of medical school debt (200-300K is average)

I would have to take organic chemistry, physics and the MCAT which I do not want to do.

If I wanted to change my specialty, I would have to re-do another residency (4 additional years)

I think that becoming an MD or PA really depends on your own personal goals and needs. I know that I can be an overall better provider as a PA than an MD. It aligns with my personality, my goals and my family life. I couldn't be happier with my decision to pursue the PA route.

Stay tuned for more experiences and my personal journey to PA School!

bottom of page