top of page

How To: Pick the Best College for Undergrad

Red brick buildings. Proximity to Charlotte. Traditional feel. These are a few of the things that I looked for in my potential university.

Prior to my senior year of high school, I was never exposed to college. My dad was a carpenter who attended an apprenticeship program in lieu of college, and my mom completed culinary school when she was 40. I never had a specific team that my family rooted for, or an older brother who went away to school. I was an only child with no information but what I could gather on the internet.

I chose local schools to apply to. None were outside of North Carolina and the furthest was a mere two hours away. I could have performed better in high school, but I still graduated with honors and I was lucky enough to have some options when acceptance letters were sent out. I applied to five schools, and was accepted to four of them.

The schools I applied to were: Elon University, High Point University, Queens University of Charlotte, UNC-Charlotte and Appalachian State University.

At the time, I was dead-set on becoming a nurse. I hadn't come to this realization before applications were due, however, so I was basically limited to three schools with nursing programs.

1. UNC-Charlotte 2. Appalachian State University 3. Queens University of Charlotte

Now was the time to decide between the three. UNC-Charlotte was VERY close to home. App State was in the mountains, but it was too far from the city life that I love. After I toured Queens University one last time, I was sold. I decided to enroll, and I couldn't wait to start my life as a college woman. I spent my first two semesters in college taking pre-nursing classes. I made a 4.0 both semesters and I loved what I was learning. But, I felt like I wanted to know more. I wanted to learn biology and chemistry (which were not part of our nursing curriculum). I slowly came to the realization that I was better suited to take pre-medical classes and change my major from nursing. I have nothing but respect for the profession, but I just knew it wasn't the right fit for me.

I began to question my choice of college when I changed my major. The main reason I chose Queens was because of the prestigious nursing program. I thought there was nothing left for me to stay there. I questioned my decision until I realized: I LOVE QUEENS. It might be smaller than some high schools, and the food isn't too good. But, I met an amazing group of girls that I am lucky enough to call my sisters, and I made even more connections when I decided to go pre-med. Queens has the tight-knit community feel, and it couldn't be in a better location.

I guess what I'm saying is, the best college for you might not be the one your parents like. It might not even be the one you like right now! Queens was at the bottom of my list senior year, and now I couldn't imagine being happier anywhere else. I am happy in my little classes on my little campus in the big city. Explore your options and make SURE you love where you are. Being successful has everything to do with your happiness.

bottom of page